Auckland Scene: free movies in parks

Well it’s taken its sweet time, but summer might just well be here! February and March will probably be our best months and what could be more fun than grabbing those sand chairs you were given for Christmas but have yet to unfold and heading along to one of these FREE movies in Auckland’s parks accompanied by live music and few hundred friends?

Here’s the low down of what’s on where:

Jake Gyllenhaal in Source Code

Mercury Energy Movies by Moonlight

Inception – with live music by Bond Street Bridge: Friday Feb 10 – Tahaki Reserve (Mt Eden) – 7.30pm

Young at Heart – with live music by Family Cactus: Saturday 11 Feb – Tahaki Reserve (Mt Eden) – 7.30pm

The King’s Speech – with live music by Bond Street Bridge: Friday Feb 17 – Auckland Botanical Gardens (Manurewa) – 7.30pm

Johnny English Reborn – with live music by Family Cactus: Saturday Feb 18 – Auckland Botanical Gardens (Manurewa) – 7.30pm

The Social Network – with live music by Macombee & the Absolute Truth: Friday 24 Feb – David Lange Park (Mangere) – 7.30pm

Surf’s Up – with live music by Family Cactus: Saturday 25 Feb – David Lange Park (Mangere) – 7.30pm

Midnight in Paris – with live music by Oval Office: Friday 2 Mar – Dudding Reserve (Little Shoal Bay) – 7pm

Puss n Boots – with live music by Macombee & the Absolute Truth: Saturday 3 Mar – Dudding Reserve (Little Shoal Bay) – 7pm

Avatar – with live music by Oval Office: Friday 9 Mar – Milford Beach Reserve – 7pm

The Smurfs – with live music by Macombee & the Absolute Truth: Saturday 10 Mar – Milford Beach Reserve – 7pm

Source Code – with live music by Oval Office: Friday 16 Mar – Luckens Reserve (West Harbour) – 7pm

People’s Choice – with live music by Bond Street Bridge: Saturday 17 Mar – Luckens Reserve (West Harbour) – 7pm

For more info on the films and driving directions jump onto this link to the Auckland Council Movies in Parks website >>>

Tags: ,

Leave a Comment